All Collections
Setting Up Integrations
Setting up your Open Authorisation (Oauth)
Setting up your Open Authorisation (Oauth)

This article covers what an OAuth application is, and why they are needed to be set up individually by each of our users.

B
Written by Ben Keeling
Updated over a week ago

OAuth (Open Authorisation) is a security protocol that allows applications to request specific access to your online services, like social media or file storage, without needing to share your username and password.

Think of it as a digital key maker, creating a special key that grants an app access to only a specific part of your online life, keeping the rest secure. It ensures that you have control over what parts of your account the app can see or use.

Imagine you want to use a new app that needs access to your photos on Google Drive. OAuth is like a digital key maker.

Without OAuth you give the app your Google Drive username and password, risking access to all your Google services. However, if you use OAuth you can approve access to just Google Drive, and OAuth creates a special key (token) for the app. This key only opens Google Drive, not anything else.

In simple terms, OAuth lets you safely share specific online services with apps without exposing everything else. It's like giving a copy of a specific key from your keychain, not the whole keychain.

Setting up OAuth access:

Each integration on our platform requires a different setup process in order to create an OAuth application and receive a Client ID and Client Secret.

Once you have set up your OAuth app on the third party websites, and have retrieved the Client ID and Client Secret, you can enter relevant information into the medialake administrator's settings page for each integration. A guide on how to find the administrator's settings page, and where to enter the Client ID and Client Secret can be found here.

Please note, only users with administrator privileges can access the administrator's integration settings page and enable an integration via adding the client ID and client secret. Once an integration has been enabled, users with "Write" privileges can then connect their own sources to this integration. A full list of the different user privileges can be found here.

Please see the relevant links below for the specific setup guide for each integration:

Did this answer your question?